Synod Council
Sandra Schlesinger, Vice President

The North/West Lower Michigan Synod is governed by the annual Synod Assembly with the Synod Council serving as the North/West Lower Michigan Synod board of directors and the interim legislative authority between meetings of the Synod Assembly. Synod Council members are nominated with an attempt to assure geographic representation.

Synod Council Directory


Audit Committee
Dan Carter, Treasurer


Pastor Larry Foster, Coach


Pastor Joan Oleson

The path to rostered leadership in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America is a partnership between candidates, congregations, synods, seminaries, and the churchwide expression of the church. The Michigan Multi-Synodical Committee is the synodical partner for candidates for ordained ministry, associates in ministry, deaconesses, and diaconal ministry from the two (Lower Peninsula) Michigan Synods.


Constitution Committee
Pastor Dennis Smith


Publicly Engaged Church Table
Ken Ponds


Global Mission Committee
Pastor Andreas Teich


Hunger Team
Pastor Erick Johnson

Pastor Michael Anderson


Equipping Leaders for Mission and Ministry
Rebecca Bossenbroek, Administrator


Living Fire Ministries
Tracy Teich


Living Water Ministries

A shared ministry of the North/West Lower Michigan and the Southeast Michigan Synods, Living Water Ministries provides camping experiences for children and youth, as well as meaningful retreats for adults.


Multi-Cultural Ministry/Anti-Racism Team
Pastor Ken Ponds, Chair


Open Hearts. Open Church
Task Force on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity


Outreach Committee
Beth Johnson, Chair


Witness/Evangelism Team


Women of the ELCA
Roxy Montague


Pastor Rachel Laughlin